Ajeromi Area Council

  • Parent Category: MSSNLagos
  • Published in Area Councils

Brief History

Ojo area council was carved out of the then Badagry area council, which stretched beyond the Lagos-Badagry expressway i.e. constain. The area council is composed of two local governments; Ojo and Amuwo Local Governments. Ojo as a community is basically riverine and the local inhabitant are majorly uneducated. However the community is blessed with two Institutions: Lagos State University (LASU) and Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (AOCOED), the Navy, Army Barracks, Satellite Town, Festac Town and the famous Alaba international market.

The people as expected have their religious life rooted in traditional worship such as "Igunuko, Egungun," among others. The advent of the two higher institutions however changed the cultural orientation of most youths though a large number of the students are not indigenes. The MSSN, Ojo area council became popularly when Bunyamin Ajayi became the Amir at a conference in 1995. Since then the council has gone through turbulent periods. It however remained steadfast and relied more on student members in the two higher institutions.

Presently the area council has developed a programme to fully integrate the different settlements despite the differences in their social, religious, and cultural composition.

Jamiu Ishola Amir (President)
Shakirudeen Taiwo Aminul’Am (Secretary)
Ibrahim Abdus-Salam Public Relations Officer (PRO)
Fatimah Abdur-Rasaq Amirah (Female President)
42, Jimoh Street, Okokomaiko, Ojoda
Usrah Centres
Venue: Okokomaiko Central Mosque
Time: Every Friday , 4.30 – 6.00 pm.
Venue: Ijanikin Central Mosque.
Time: Every Saturday 4.30p.m.
Contact e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Weekly Usrah

Always comes up on Friday between the hours 4.30 and 6.30 p.m at Okokomaiko Central Mosque, and Ijanikin Central Mosque. This holds every Saturday by 4.30p.m.

It holds every third Sunday of the month at Igbo Elerin Pitch. It commences by 7.00 a.m.

General Meeting
It holds every second Sunday of the Islamic month at Okokomaiko Central Mosque between the hours of 10.00 a.m. and 2.00 p.m.

Extra Mural Class
This is an academic oriented programme organised for secondary school student. It comes up between Monday and Thursdays at Sheikh Abubakar Gumi Nursery and Primary School, Okoko.

This is a camping programme where Muslims are fully trained in Islamic way of life. It comes up during the Mid-term break in the third term of the secondary school calendar.

Kindergarten Section
During the Usrah, our children are also taken care of, as such; some of our key officers see to their activities.

Computer Appreciation and Internet Exploration
This is a package from our educational committee organized solely for the secondary school students in our locality.

Guidance & Counseling Programme
This features as appropriate, it is also meant for the students in our locality.

It is a programme for our female folks. It is meant to address issues peculiar to the female gender. It features once a year.

This comes up in October in all Area Council. It is meant to celebrate and re-launch the society in the heart of the general public.
This is a weekly forum where members learn about Islam, issues around the world and familiarize with one another to strengthen the bond of brotherhood. It comes up every Friday at the council’s secretariat between 3:00pm and 6:00pm.

They are Central branches, Higher Institutions and Secondary schools

Central Branches
Ajangbadi Central Branch
Afromedia Central Branch
Agboju Central Branch
Isashi Central Branch
Iba Central Branch


- Lagos State University
- Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education
Secondary School Branches
- Kuje Secondary School
- Agboju Secondary School
- Amuwo Grammar School
- Awori Ajeromi Grammar School
- Festac Girls Secondary School
- Festac Grammar School
- Festac College
- Navy Town Secondary School
- Nigerian Navy Secondary School
- Satellite Secondary School
- Cantonment Boy's Secondary School
- Cantonment Girls' Secondary School
- Command Day Secondary School
- Lagos State Model College
- Ojo High School
- Community Secondary School
- Awori college, Ojo
- Iba community Secondary School
- Ajangbadi High School, Afromedia
- Ilogbo-Elegba Grammar School, Ilogbo
- Isashi Grammar School, Isashi
- Lagos State Government Secondary School
- Federal Government College, Ijanikin
  • St. Mary's College, Ajangbadi
  • Iqrah Comprehensive College, Iba New Site.Alimosho Grammar School, Alimosho

Subscribe for Updates