Council of Higher Institutions

The emergence of the Council of Higher Institutions [COHI] was as a result of the large communication gap that existed within the higher institution circle and their inability to exist as a single functional unit. The need for a virile avenue where Muslims in this institutions will come together to address common challenges and proffer solutions to such was felt and steps were taken to remedy the situation. COHI thus emerged to represent the united voice of Muslim students in our institutions, championing their rights and earning them a consideration with policy making bodies of the schools.

The member schools of COHI according to their respective Area Council and according to location of campuses for proper coordination are as follows:



Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (AOCOED) Oto, Ijanikin Oto-Awori
  Ansarudeen College of Education (ADCOED),Isolo Isolo
  Federal College of Orthopaedic Technology, Igbobi (FECOT) Shomolu
  Federal College of Education, Akoka (FCET) Bariga
  Federal College of Fisheries and Marine Technology (FCFMT-Oceanography) Eti-Osa
  GRACE Polytechnic Surulere
  Lagos City Polytechnic Ikeja
  Lagos State School of Health Technology, Yaba (LASCOHET) Yaba
  Lagos State University, Epe (LASU Epe) Epe
  Lagos State University, Ojo (LASU Ojo) Ojo
  Lagos State University College of Medicine, Ikeja (LASUCOM) Ikeja
  Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Idi-Araba (CMUL/LUTH) Mushin
  Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu Ikorodu
  Lagos State Polytechnic, Isolo Isolo
  Lagos State Polytechnic, Surulere Surulere
  Michael Otedola College of Primary Education, Epe (MOCPED) Eredo
  Nigeria Institute of Journalism, Ogba (NIJ) Ikeja
  St. Augustine College of Education, Akoka (SACOED) Yaba
  University of Lagos, Akoka (UNILAG) Akoka
  WOLEX Polytechnic Alimosho
  Yaba College of Technology, Yaba Yaba
  Yaba College of Technology, Epe Epe
  Federal School of Occupational Therephy (FSOT) Oshodi

Towards achieving these lofty goals, the body organizes a series of programmes to address this and other issues periodically. Some of these programmes are:

The annual conference of all member institutions is referred to as HICOMS i.e. Higher Institutions Convention of Muslim Students. It is a forum where account of stewardship is given by the incumbent executives and new ones are elected. It comes up to round up the activities of COHI each administrative year.

This forum is organized as an enlightenment forum on academic pursuit in our institutions. Papers are presented on latest trends in selected fields and contributions are made by participants. It is usually organized along the science and administrative lines.

Stakeholders in the affairs of Muslims and student leaders of higher institutions meet at this forum to deliberate on issues affecting them and proffer solutions on ways to progress. The retreat also ensures an avenue where Muslims reflect on ideas by which the lot other Muslims can be improved.

The need to discuss the issues affecting Muslim females in higher institutions cannot be over-emphasized. The seminar therefore is organized to discuss topical issues as concerned females. It also serves as a forum for enlightenment and encouragement.

COHI activities rest on the support of some highly regarded Muslim professionals in the society who support the council through their enlightened advises. They serve as consultant on various issues concerning the Muslim students and are sources of funds when needed. COHI therefore organizes regular courtesy calls to these honored Muslims to further the relationship and show the gratitude of the students.

This programme covers the interactions of COHI with the various member schools that form the council. Visitations are organized such that all schools are covered at least once in the administration. COHI also ensures that a member of the executive cabinet features in the programmes of the school.

At the last HICOMS, the following people were given the responsibility of organizing the affairs of the council





Abd Hameed Ibrahim




Taofeeq Iyana

Deputy Coordinator



Adeola Ma'ruf Taiwo

General Secretary



Abdul-kareem Ibrahim

Asst. Gen. Secretary



Usman Tijani

Financial Secretary



Habeeb Ismail Badmus

Public Relations Officer (PRO)



Akomolafe  Jamiu

Welfare Officer








Muibah Adeoye

Female Coordinator



Ruqayah Abd Kareem

Dep. Female Coordinator



Salmah Olokodana

Secretary Sisters' Circle



A'Kareem Fauziyyah

PRO Sisters Circle



A'Razak Azeezah



Aminat Moshood Welfare Sister    

4th Floor
161, Herbert Macaulay way,
Ebutte - Metta, Yaba,
Lagos, Nigeria
P.O.Box 88 Unilag, Akoka, Lagos

+234-(0)1-8791452, +234-54130717; +234-7044294290

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Subscribe for Updates